Finley Inducts 23 into NJHS

Recognizing student achievement both inside and outside of the classroom, the National Junior Honor Society at Finley Middle School welcomed 23 new members. Graduating eighth-grade members and the society’s officers participated in the ceremony to officially induct these students into the Finley chapter of the NJHS, which now boasts 42 members. 

NJHS is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle level students. More than just an honor roll, NJHS honors those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, citizenship and character. Chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.

Finley’s NJHS chapter participates and facilitates a variety of community service projects in and around the Glen Cove schools and the community. Their adviser is Carol Gaughran. Congratulations to the following students, who regularly exemplify the NJHS virtues:

Grace Tenke – President, Charles McQuair – Vice President, Jolee Murphy – Secretary, Joshua Filippone – Treasurer, Talia Sakhaee - Historian
2014 Inductees:
Isabel Blas, Emily Budraitis, Lucy Costello, Micaela Costello, Kayla Demosthene, John Dong, Mackenzie Edwards, Yessenia Fernandez, Ariana Greenberg, Mason Kletter, Glory Mayreis, Jesse Mayreis, Sienna Nicolich, Evan O'Regan, Lauren Retoske, Arden Sanders-D'Alleva, Alyssa Schmitt, Alondra Schuck, Evelyn Tran, Morgan Vignali, Julianna Willson, Andrew Woska, Joseph Yee
2013 - 2014 Members:
William Casale,  Giuseppe D'Ambrosio, Nicole Franklin, Amanda Ieraci, Monika Jagustyn, Logan Pascucci, Dominique Pawul, Chloe Perez, Deliliah Perez, Brianna Pfaff, Meghan Smith, Rebecca Tan, Ryan Telese, Alyssa Wozlonis