In Their Honor! Glen Cove HS Inducts 27 New Members to NHS


Glen Cove High School inducted 27 new members into the school’s chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS). Current NHS officers presented the principles of the society during the official candle lighting ceremony: President Rahul Nath explained the NHS emblem, while the other officers lit candles representing the four principles. Vice President Julia Oh lit the candle for Scholarship, Treasurer Andrew Sakhaee for both Character and Service, and Secretary Lorena Silva for Leadership.

Each inductee was awarded an NHS certificate, while officers presented the achievements of each recipient before giving the official oath:

I pledge myself to uphold the high purpose of the National Honor Society to which I have been selected;
I will be true to the principles for which it stands;
I will be loyal to my school;
And I will maintain and encourage high standards of Scholarship, Service, Leadership and Character.

NHS is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas mentioned above. Francine Perez is the GCHS NHS advisor. 

2011 GCHS NHS Inductees:
Michael Acera, Aisha Ali, Emily Anderson, Victoria Andreotti, Elias Blinkoff, Rachel Brady, Thomas Cammisa, Nicole D’Ambrosio, Alexandra Franklin, Connor Hamel, Jerry Ho, Jennifer Ingegno, Mathew Kolbert, Robert Krisch, Andrea Larzo, Claire Lechtenberg, Briana Leon, Yaqarah Letellier, Sabina Minopoli, Kayla Morrissey, Ciara Seebachan, Maria Serrano, Lorenzo Sfoggia, Caroline Suozzi, Stan Tokarz, Tommy Ziegen and Carina Zupa.

Class of 2011 GCHS NHS Graduates:
Heather Artinian, Carly Baron, Julie Bruschini, Vincent DiPaola, Victoria Garcia, Philip Graziosi, Kimberly Marte, Erin McCabe, Cassandra Napoli, Rahul Nath, Julia Oh, Jenna Piccirillo, Andrew Sakhaee, Viola Sawyer, Katherine Serrano, Lorena Silva, and Rachel Vitale.