Coach, Athletes Honored

Glen Cove High School Boys Varsity Basketball coach Pete Falen was recently honored as Conference III Coach of the Year after leading the team to its first Conference championship in 22 years. Coach Falen was also recognized as Girls Soccer Conference Coach of the Year in the fall.

Adding to the team’s accolades, Boys Varsity Basketball leading scorer Kewan Beebe was named to the All-Long Island team, which represents the best players in both Nassau and Suffolk counties. Kewan was also named team Most Valuable Player (MVP). It was a banner year for Coach Falen and Varsity Basketball team, as they compiled a 15-4 record (14-3 in Conference) and advanced to the quarterfinals of the playoffs. The Girls Soccer team finished with a record of 10-5, also making the playoffs.

Kewan averaged 18.5 points and 4 assists per game for the Big Red, stepping it up to 19 points per game in league play and 24 for the playoffs. His season high was 27, which he accomplished twice; including once against County champs Manhasset. He was also tied for second on Long Island in three-point shooting.

In addition to these fine standouts, Glen Cove High School also recognized outstanding athletes at its Booster Club awards night for the winter sports season.
Christina Cappiello, Mauro Carignano, Victoria Durso, Alexandra Gerin, Catherine Liang, Risa Nagel and Gorov Sodhi were all nominated for the prestigious Superintendent’s Award. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Joseph A. Laria presented the award to Gorov, who is a member of the Varsity Wrestling squad.
Seven winter athletic teams also distributed varsity, junior varsity and special awards, including the Booster Club Award and MVP awards. Catherine Liang and Eric Goodmark of the Rifle team, Nicole Alexander and Victoria Durso of Girls Varsity Basketball, Kewan and Christopher Theodorou of Boys Varsity Basketball, Gorov Sodhi and Jakub Micko of Varsity Wrestling, Emily Durso and Briana Moglia of Varsity Cheerleading, and Risa Nagel and Rosa Petulla of Kickline were recognized as team MVP and Booster Award winners, respectively. Additionally, Tiana Hueca received the Kickline Spirit Award, and Dylan Silas and Ylenia Elvy-Panton were named the MVPs of the Winter Track team.
Director of Health, Physical Education and Athletics Denise Kiernan recognized the three winter teams who achieved a Conference Championship during the winter season, including the Varsity Boys Basketball team, Varsity Wrestling, and the Rifle team. The Varsity Girls Basketball team and varsity wrestlers were also recognized as New York State Scholar-Athlete Teams for achieving an academic average of 90 or better.